Related Links

Case Updates

Krishna Adhikari

Krishna Adhikari On 6 June 2004, Krishna Prasad Adhikari, a resident of Fujel village of Gorkha District, was murdered in Chitwan District by Maoist cadres. Krishna Prasad was visiting his grandparents after having taken the SLC examinations, and he was abducted from Bakullahar Chowk by men who came on a motorcycle ...
» more

Maina Sunuwar

Maina Sunuwar Around 6 am on February 17, 2004, a group of RNA soldiers arrested Ms Maina Sunuwar, a 15-year-old schoolgirl of Kharelthok VDC-6, Kavre district. She disappeared since her arrest. Her family members, with support from villagers and school where Maina was a student, visited detention centers ...
» more

Sanjeev Kumar Karna

Sanjeev Kumar Karna Sanjeev Kumar Karna was one among the 11 persons arrested on October 8, 2003. On that fateful day, they had gone to attend a picnic program organized by the students at a place called Kariyachauri VDC-4, and from picnic, they went to Kataiya Chowri Area of Dhanusha district where they ate some food ...
» more

Arjun Bahadur Lama

Arjun Bahadur Lama, 48 years in age, permanent resident of Chhatrebas VDC -5, Dapcha in Kavre district was abducted by a group of Maoist cadres, three in number, on 29 April 2005 (2062.1.16 BS) from the premises of Sri Krishna Secondary School at Chhatrebas VDC-1 of the district.
» more

Hari Prasad Bolakhe

Hari Prasad Bolakhe, 35 (while missing) a permanent resident of Phulbari VDC-8, Kavre district, a pastor by profession, had been missing since the arrest December 27, 2003, was reportedly killed by security persons. A team of National Human Rights Commission discovered a human skeleton in a jungle ...
» more

Sarala Sapkota

Around 11 p.m. on July 15, 2004, a group of 12 armed soldiers arrested Sarala Sapkota at her grandfather’s house. The family, who witnessed the arrest, stated that soldiers gave Sarala no reason for her arrest. After her arrest, Sarala’s family went to Baireni barracks and the DPO ...
» more

Birendra Shah

On the evening of 5 October 2007, Mr. Birendra Shah, 34, resident of Inruwasira VDC-8, Bara district, a local journalist of Bara district and correspondent of Nepal FM, Avenues Television and Dristi weekly, was abducted by Maoists from Pipara Bazaar in Kalaiya, the district headquarters of Bara ...
» more

Bishwanath Parajuli, Tom Nath Poudel and Dhan Bahadur Tamang

Three persons namely Bishwonath Parajuli (also called Nagendra Parajuli), Tom Nath Poudel and Dhan Bahadur Tamang of Hasandaha VDC, Morang were shot dead by the security personnel on 28 September 2004. According to the eyewitnesses, other victims and the villagers, about 16 people were arrested ...
» more

Chot Nath Ghimire and Shekhar Nath Ghimire

Chot Nath Ghimire, a 58-year-old farmer, resident of Ishaneshor VDC-4, Ratamate Majhpokhari of Lamjung district was allegedly arrested by the Joint Security Forces of Joint Security Camp stationed at Bhorlatar VDC, Lamjung district on February 2, 2002 (2058.10.20). The security camp called Mr. ...
» more

Bhauna Tharu

Bhauna Tharu (Bhauna Chaudhary in the citizenship card), 21 years old male (at the time of the incident; Date of Birthe: 8 September 1978), son of Purna Bahadur Chaudhary, permanent resident of Sujanpur village, Neulapur VDC-4, Bardiya district, and an employee of Rastriya Gobar Gas, Gulariya, ...
» more

Close Encounters

Stories from the Frontline of Human Rights Work in Nepal

Close Encounters
During Nepal’s armed conflict and its aftermath, human rights violations not only scarred and destroyed the victims but had a devastating effect on the lives of human rights defenders.
» more

Accountability Watch Committee

AWC intervenes in areas of law and policy where Human Rights and the rule of law are concerned. The committee was formed in 2006 with a mission to keep the issues surrounding impunity, accountability and rule of law in the National political agenda.  AF had played a lead role in the formation of the committee.

AWC was formed to work through coordinated advocacy approach in order to put pressure on the government to address past Human Rights abuses and to promote the implementation of a comprehensive Transitional Justice mechanism in Nepal. It was also formed to provide a platform to influence and lobby for accountability and promotion and protection of Human Rights. As the culture of impunity is rolling on unabated, many of the victims of the conflict are suffering due to the injustices inflicted upon them, and there is a need to address these injustices in order to provide relief to the victims and create an environment for reconciliation which is a prerequisite to sustainable peace, development and institutionalization of democracy in Nepal. In the process of exerting pressure on the government and raising awareness amongst the victims, this initiative has brought the key organizations and the individual together to make strategic interventions by demanding accountability for the cases of human rights violations and make interventions in those areas that affect the rule of law and human rights. Like a watchdog body of independent experts, AWC also keeps its eyes peeled for any development in the legislation relating to transitional justice mechanisms and takes resort to immediate interventions if the government seemed to formulate laws that directly sacrifices justice on the altar of political expediency.

Activities of AWC

  • Coordination among Human Right Organizations and civil society
  • Using lobbying , advocacy and civic diplomacy to curb impunity and to promote human rights and rule of law
  • Strictly monitoring the process of formation of TRC, Disappearance -Commission so that the transitional justice mechanisms will be established  in line with internationally accepted principles
  • Extending cooperation to local/national/international initiatives for ending impunity
  • Sensitization on issues surrounding TJ, Accountability and impunity amongst various stakeholders
  • Provide a platform for discussion, debate and consultations on relevant issues
  • Creation of a consensus-based broader national frame-work for transitional justice
  • Enhancement of better  coordination, safety and security  of  HR Defenders 

Membership and Structure of Board 
Organizations and individuals working in the areas of human rights, rule of law, accountability, and transitional justice are the members of the committee. The core committee consists of 17 members as mentioned below:

  1. Sushil Pyakurel(Former Commissioner, NHRC)
  2. Members:
  3. Birendra Thapaliya(FORHID)
  4. Charan Prasai, (Chair -Joint Forum for Human rights)
  5. Devi Sunuwar(victims' family)
  6. Dipendra Jha(Human Rights Activist)
  7. Dr. Gauri Shankar Lal Das(Former Commissioner, NHRC)
  8. Dr. Gopal Krishna Siwakoti(President-INHURED)
  9. Dr. Renu Rajbhandary(President-WOREC)
  10. Durga Sob(Dalit Women Activist)
  11. Govinda Sharma "Bandi"(Lawyer)
  12. Hari Phuyal(Lawyer)
  13. Kanak Mani Dixit( Senior Journalist)
  14. Mandira Sharma(Executive Director-Advocacy Forum)
  15. Prof. Kapil Shrestha(Former Commissioner, NHRC)
  16. Sobhakar Budhathoki(Conflict Analyst)
  17. Subodh Pyakurel(President-INSEC/HRH)
  18. Suman Adhikari(Victims' Family)
    Members of Secretariat
  1. Yagya Thapa

Press Statements Issued by AWC

powered by webEdition CMS